How many chickens do you need to maintain the genetic integrity of a flock of chickens?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mike1988, Dec 1, 2013.

1. Mike1988

Mike1988 New Egg

Nov 27, 2013
    Hello my name is Michael and I am new to backyardchickens.com and have been having difficulty with my research into how many chickens I need if I want to try to make a self sustaining flock of chickens. I am interested in this for I would like to get into conserving some of the heritage breeds such as the Buckeye Chicken, Delaware, Barred Plymouth Rock, and Sussex. Have not settled on the breed I plan on going with and I have a few years before I can start since I am finishing up my last year and a half of school but want to research this thoroughly before I begin. I love the personality of some of these birds and want to work on making the meet qualities from some of these dual purpose heritage breed strains even better. Thanks for the help in advance and I look forward to getting to know some of you.

2. ChicknsRock

ChicknsRock Overrun With Chickens

Oct 4, 2013
    [​IMG] Barred Plymouth Rocks are awesome chickens!

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

It is good to think ahead and do some planning. If you talk to someone who breeds heritage birds and seeks to keep their breeding at top form, they'll likely recommend focusing on just one breed. The reasons are many, but the most important aspect of breeding to the Standard is that it simply takes a lot of chicks put on the ground each year in order to keep improving your flock. There is no such thing as "standing still" when preserving these venerable breeds. If your flock is standing still, you're actually backing up. You must continue to improve with each breeding cycle.