How many nest boxes???

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by cjdeere, Mar 3, 2008.

1. cjdeere

cjdeere Out Of The Brooder

Feb 29, 2008
    Hannibal, Missouri
    Hi everyone,
    I'm building my first chicken house and I'm having trouble with how many nest boxes I need. I've heard that I should have one nest for every 5 chickens but I'm new at this and want to do this right the first time so I thought I'd ask thoughs who are in the know. I'm going to have about 25 - 30 chicks total. The coop I'm building is a 10' x 12'. Do you guys think that's an ok size? They will also have access to most of the goat pin to forage around and irritate my two Minni-Nubian girls. Anyway what do you all think about how many chickens per nest and my coop size? Thanks everyone, I've learned alot just by looking around the site.

Thanks,
    CJ

2. Mrs Chickenlady

Mrs Chickenlady Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2008
    Texas Hill Country
    Welcome CJ [​IMG] I'm most certainly not the expert here, but from my experience 1 nesting box to every 5 hens is plenty. My first coop had two boxes and 5 hens. To this day they've never used the one nesting box [​IMG]
    4 sq feet per bird is the average, so 10 x 12 should be sufficient for 25. Good luck and keep us posted on your progress [​IMG]

3. da-cajun-angla

da-cajun-angla Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 22, 2008
    laplace,la
    YUP 1 NEST PER 5

4. TechEdFireman

TechEdFireman Chillin' With My Peeps

5. tink

tink Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2007
    upstate SC
    I have found that it doesn't matter how many boxes you have, they all argue about the same one. Mine almost stand in line to get in that one perfect box. Heaven forbid they might use one of the other 5!!!
    Tink

6. Cheryl

Cheryl Chillin' With My Peeps