How much space do my quail need and what species can I mix together?

jerry44

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 27, 2014
Hi. This is my first year raising quail and I've really jumped in. I have a lot of questions so if you have any input or answers to anything I'd appreciate it. I have 10 valley quail chicks, 5 gambel quail chicks, and expect at least 20 Tennessee Red bobwhite quail to hatch soon. I'm also picking up a pair of adult valley quail later this week. Right now I don't have my aviary finished. I have a barn with two stalls and a 20' x 37' corral attached to the back of the barn. I bought a couple huge rolls of 1 inch poultry wire and have fenced in the entire corral area. Now I want to split the corral into two sections and connect each section to a barn stall to allow the birds a nice place to get out of the elements. Obviously the only way this will work is if I can keep different species together in the same pen. I was hoping to put the reds in the same pen with the gambel quail to prevent the gambel and valley from breeding (is that possible?). Does anybody know if they would be aggressive towards each other or if the gambel and reds would try to breed? Does that seem like plenty of space for that many birds? I would have 25 to 30 birds in an area that is 32' x 18'. Do any of these quail get aggressive towards each other or other quail when they are breeding? When I raised chukar in the spring they would get very aggressive. I'm wondering if I need to build a separate pen or try to split my current design into 3 or more smaller pens.