How much water do ducks need... and a few other silly questions....

ladybug99

Songster
9 Years
Aug 10, 2010
Monroe New Jersey
I am new to ducks.... so here is my situation... we bought 5 cute little ducklings back in the beginning of October with the hopes of building them a nice enclosure with a built in pond for them. Needless to say we got hit by the hurricane in the end of October with the duck pen half finished. So my five huge ducklings ( really they are bigger than my chickens) are currently living in our chick brooder. Its large about 20 ft by 8 ft.It has an enclosed outside pen as well. I know ducks need water to eat so I have them trained pretty good to come for thier food and drink out of the chicken waterer... but since they have gotton bigger we have moved the feeding outside in the morning where we have rigged up a small pond from a top of a bird feeder. They love to get right in the water slurp it up and make a mess with it. At night we are still using a chicken waterer. They make such a mess, they get everything wet and I have to clean up the muck almost every morning!!! My question is once they have finished eating do they need a huge amount of water or can I take it away till the morning??

And while I am at it a few more questions..... my ducks love being outside but don't go in by themselves, can I train them to automatically go in at night like the chickens or will I forever have to entice them inside with tasty treats?!

And one final question... what is the best type of bedding or floor for our duck pen.... I currently have them on sand with straw for them to sleep on. The sand gets pretty wet and smelly if I leave water inside. they seem to like to nibble at the straw....But when the duck pen in finished I would like some ideas on what to put on the floor, I don't think we will be keeping water inside thier enclosure since they will have a nice sizable pond to swim in.

I appreciate any ideas or suggestions :)