How to collect and store eggs - - -

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by math ace, Oct 4, 2010.

1. math ace

math ace Overrun With Chickens

Dec 17, 2009
    Jacksonville, FL
    I am ready to start incubating some eggs, but I don't know how to go about collecting and storing the eggs until I have enough to incubate.

I get 2 - 3 eggs a day of the breed I want to hatch.

How long can I collect before they need to go in the incubator.

I live in Florida. Our temps this week are high 80 and low 60.
    In my house it is 78 F.

How do I store the eggs - - where can I store them ? ? In the refrigerator, on the counter, . . ?

HELP, I've never done this before!

2. Cats Critters

Cats Critters Completely Indecisive

Here is how I did it, I collected the eggs I wanted then checked those eggs over if they where dirty or odd shaped I treated them like any other eggs, but if they were "perfect" I set them in a basket in a cool, dry section of our kitchen and when I got the right # I checked them again for any flaws. And the "perfect" ones get incubated.

How long can I collect before they need to go in the incubator.

From my understanding hatching rate goes down after about two weeks, but sooner is better.​

3. flgardengirl

flgardengirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2009
    Sunny side up :)
    I'm in fl too and I just stick mine in an egg carton in the closet until I finish collecting for 7 days. Then they go in the bator.
    I did try putting 7 in the bator once from a young bcm pullet that had been in the fridge door for several days. I let them sit for about 8 hrs to get back up to room temperature. 5 out of 7 hatched. I think if you had a wine cooler and put a dish of water in the bottom it would be about perfect to store them in but I haven't gotten one yet.

4. rebel yell

rebel yell Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010
    Alabama
    i put mine in the fridge & always had good luck, just remember to keep them turned.

5. math ace

Dec 17, 2009