How To Make My Hens Lay More? Any Wondeful Ideas?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Mrs. Fluffy Puffy, Aug 11, 2010.

1. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Mrs. Fluffy Puffy Fluffy Feather Farm

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    I have a whole flock of Buff Orpingtons that are about 2 - 3 years old. I am getting about 6 - 7 eggs a day. [​IMG]
    This Spring I was getting around 20 + eggs a day. We have been having a heat wave, and some of the are molting I know that can decrease egg production, but what could I start giving them to boost my egg supply at least a little bit? Thank You! [​IMG]

2. The Tinman

The Tinman Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2010
    Fairfield County CT
    Play some nice Classical music. Something calming like Paco Bell Canon. Stay away from Wagner "Ride of the Valcaries" or Barber"adojio"

3. Amyh

Amyh Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2010
    North Carolina
    I am a newbie, but from what I've read, chickens only lay for 2 - 2 1/2 years. After that they need to be culled an replaced...

At least that's what I've read, but I've yet to get my first egg... so I really know nothing!! [​IMG]

4. sunflowerenvy

sunflowerenvy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2010
    south/west tn
    coooler weather they hate heat they do better in winter spring n fall

5. vetgirl00us

vetgirl00us Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Rome, GA
    Go back to the old ways. Put a jalapeno in the waterer and feed them a mix of mashed english green peas. Should do the trick after about a week

6. chickendude

chickendude Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2009
    Dutchess County NY
    gently apply firm squeezing pressure with your pointy finger and thumb to the hens head. [​IMG] Works every time.[​IMG] [​IMG]

7. pw_quiltworks

pw_quiltworks One Handy Chick

Jan 7, 2009
    Maine
    Lots O Light 24/7

8. dieselgrl48

dieselgrl48 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2010
    Virginia