Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mommywoes, Aug 21, 2011.

1. mommywoes

mommywoes Out Of The Brooder

Aug 21, 2011
    Hi there, I'm new to this coop but I've been raising my own chickens for over a year now. Let me tell you a little about me... I'm a mother to 3 very lively children (2 boys and a girl ages 3,2, and 4 months) , 3 horses, 3 goats, 3 dogs and a cat. My backyard chickens came to us Mother's Day weekend in 2010, a wild chicken decide to make her nest in our unused coop. On the day her chicks hatched (12!) our bird dog killed the hen. What can I say my mommy instincts took over and my husband and I ran out and scooped up all of the hatchlings and brought them inside. We made a quick run to tractor supply and came back with everything these chicks would need. We were extremely lucky only 2 were roosters and the rest started laying last year continued through the winter and now that summer is full tilt these beautiful girls are laying like crazy! We're getting a minimum of 12 eggs a day, and had one crazy day with 30 eggs laid... yep THIRTY! Needless to say we've been making a lot of egg based meals, and our friends and family call us when they need eggs.

A few months ago 2 of our hens went broody and I decided to let them keep some eggs, unfortunately the hens have started fighting for a chance to sit on the eggs as well and a few eggs have been broken. I was devastated to find that a chick had hatched and had been killed in the mayhem. So as of today I ordered an incubator kit ( Little Giant complete incubator kit with brooder) and we'll see what happens. Family members are quite eager to have a chance to raise some chicks in hopes they get a hen. Oh and before you think I let the roosters breed with essentially their siblings, I didn't. I actually traded one of the roosters for a Bantam rooster... I can't wait to see the chicks!!
  2. 10 point

10 point country boy

Feb 19, 2011
    LaFayette, NY
    [​IMG] from NY
  3. kidcody