1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Huh!?!?!? How Did It?!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jfulcher, Aug 21, 2011.

1. jfulcher

jfulcher Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2011
    Tucson, AZ 85712
    Ok.. Here's the low down.. I'm a beginner at candling... So don't go harassing me about this.. About 4 days ago give or take I candled my coturnix quail eggs. Thought I saw some clears, about 8. Put them next to the bator, walked away. Asked DH to throw them away. Well he has been turning the bator, and when I went in and saw them there I about threw a fit. Then I saw something that threw me for a loop...... THEY WERE ROCKING!!! [​IMG] Not wiggling.. Rocking... [​IMG] [​IMG] So I hurriedly grabbed them, closed the door, and turned the lights off... Candled them again.. Sniffed them.. Watched for them to move again.. Only 1 smelled odd. Tuesday is hatch day.. So we are in lockdown.. Placed these odd ones in the hatcher, and I am waiting to see what, if anything, happens.

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Could be interesting. You must have a warm spot by your incubator if they've truly survived that.

3. jfulcher

jfulcher Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2011
    Tucson, AZ 85712
    I know right!? I mean its insanely humid in our house, and relatively warm. I am very interested to see if they hatch! Yet embarrassed I candled wrong.. [​IMG]

4. SkyWarrior

SkyWarrior Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010
    Wilds of Montana
    Quote:Don't beat yourself up. People do this all the time. My thought is that unless something looks really bad, I leave them in the incubator. I'll move them to one side, but leave them in. YMMV [​IMG]

5. Gypsy07