1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I am new to all of this chicken stuff.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by photogeek, May 12, 2011.

1. photogeek

photogeek Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2011
    South Alabama
    many years ago my ex husband bought me about 20 bitties, and some grown turkeys, and geese oh and a few docks. The bitties did well, the grown fowl weren't a lot of fun and ran off a lot. Any, living in the south, my hubby decided that the chickens didn't need any special place to stay so he just put up a small fence with a door and very small lean too for the to get out of the rain. oh and a small pine tree was in the pen so they could roost. Well, long story short....neighbor dog got in, i came home, no more live chickens. Now, 15 year later I'm going to try this again. I don't have that husband anylonger so many changes have been made. I went to the local feed store and they had a shipment of chickens,and ducks. Got 5 straight runs and 5 pullets. they were all about a day or two old. This was in March. OH OH I forgot to say we also got guineas! I always wanted guineas. So we fix them up in a seperated brooder box, well made, seperated so they can eat their own special feeds. That was on March 30. After last week we started working on a pen. I think it's pretty cool pen. It's fenced in, over head too. when done it will have a house, above ground with windows and some nesting boxes. we are learning as we go along. Anyway we are having a lot of fun with these chickens and noticing that they each have personalities.. Now since we got them from a local feed store they were not identified much except pullets or straight run. so we bout five of them and two guienas.