I don't know how to promote my eggs!! Help please!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MelissaH, Aug 24, 2013.

1. MelissaH

MelissaH New Egg

Aug 1, 2013
    Swanton, VT
    Hello everyone!
    This is my first year with chickens, and I have more eggs than I know what to do with, both chicken and duck eggs actually. I was just wondering, how do you promote your eggs? Are there any specific ways that work well? Any thoughts, suggestions, any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks! -Mel

2. loveourbirds

loveourbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    sometimes states have different laws, so check local laws before following this advice.

bring it up at work, you would be surprised at how many you can sell.

put a sign in the yard. it works pretty well.

depending on laws, some local country stores will buy them to sell or allow you to sell them there.

if you have a rooster, advertise them as fertile hatching eggs. you can get a bit more money for fertile eggs. but its slowing down this time of year.

craigslist. your phone will probably ring off the hook.

be careful not to over-advertise. it's usually easy to sell eggs.

3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Word of mouth has worked best for me. I put a flier up at work, and told folks at church. I give the first dozen away free (hey, it works for crack dealers, right [​IMG] ) and deliver them to work or church. Those have been my main customers. I've sold some to my kid's parents. Even my ds14's friends love going in the coop and collecting eggs! I figure any chance I have to promote local, healthier, humane food is a win.

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland