I need advice

tnspursfan09

Songster
6 Years
Aug 28, 2013
Limestone, TN
Still a newbie here so I've been reading all the threads and posting pics everywhere...asking questions and such. During all this, with the help of peeps here, I realized that 2 of my orps are boys. That leaves me with 3 red hens, 1 leghorn hen, 1 buff orp hen and 3 roosters. I don't know what to do. This is my first flock and we're still getting to know each other and now there's all this added stress of 2 new roosters. My Leghorn, Diego, is a good rooster. He gets agressive with my hubby and daughter, which is why the flock is mine now, but I can usually handle him. He's tried to come at me a couple of times, but I always carry my rake in the run and if I can keep him off me till I can grab it, as soon as I start raking the dirt he calms right down. I don't know why but they all love when I rake their yard. They follow the rake around ( I have to be careful not to get any toes) scratching and pecking and when I'm done they all take a dust bath. That's another thing. Diego hasn't been rolling in the dirt with the others after I rake in about 2 days...he's constantly nervous and on edge. One of the boy has been going after the hens and it drives him crazy.
What do I do with extra roosters? How do I choose? Yeah Diego can be a pain, but he's also good with the hens and watches out for them. The new boys follow me around and are rather like big shaggy dogs so they'd be easier to handle, but would they be as good with guarding and with caring for the girls? I know there's not enough hens to go around and things are only gonna get worse if I do nothing.

Help!

This is my flock

I would get rid of all three roosters if those are your daughters in the picture. Small children and roosters do not make a good fit, especially one that is aggressive and can cause serious injury to people, especially children.