I need emergency HELP!!!!

Aunt BB

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 29, 2013
I had a hen that was sitting on 21 eggs. Approx 1 1/2-2 wks ago when feeding I found her dead in the nest. You could tell by eyes and comb she starved/dehydrated herself. My emergency is I took the eggs in and put them in the incubator, I candled the eggs and all but 3 are living, but i don't know how long she sat on them and when they need to come off the turner??????? Is there any way to tell when day 18 is or am I chancing this the whole way????? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

redsoxs

Crowing
8 Years
Jul 17, 2011
North Central Kansas
Greetings from Kansas, Aunt BB, and
welcome-byc.gif
! Great to have you with us! No idea as I am a novice egg hatcher...post in the following link for more precise advice. Good luck to you!

https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/5/incubating-hatching-eggs

drumstick diva

Still crazy after all these years.
Premium Feather Member
11 Years
Aug 26, 2009
Out to pasture
welcome-byc.gif
Some broodies are so dedicated they won't leave the nest to eat, drink or potty. They have to be physically removed in order to do those things. I would think those were too many eggs for her to cover as well. She wouldn't be the first broody to starve to death.

Aunt BB

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 29, 2013
Thank you all for your help I am pleased that their is a place that provides info from others that have been through the issues already with chickens. Just wish I was able to be able to make this my employment line
thumbsup.gif

DDNONIN2016

Songster
7 Years
Jan 27, 2012
SW Ohio
Hello and welcome from Ohio....so glad you joined BYC

Sorry to hear you lost your hen :( I have to physically remove 11 broodies from the nests everyday to make them get a bite to eat and a drink. Shewwww

Best wishes on your hatch :)

Aunt BB

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 29, 2013