I Need Tips on How to Add Three New Hens to an existing small flock

Catfsm

Songster
11 Years
Sep 28, 2011
West Lnn, Oregon
We have 7 chickens and two roosters. Three hens are in one house with one roo, and 4 are in with the second roo.

All of them are full grown around a year or less old.

I love them, and I am getting three more this week! I want them to live with the 3 hens and the roo. The new ones are about a year old.

I need tips on how to introduce them, how to be sure they are safe, etc.

Will the other chickens hurt them? Will the roo like them? Is it OK to just put them inside and watch to see what occurs?

Thanks.

I am new to chickens myself. I know they say you should incubate them for awhile to make sure they aren't sick. Of course, my husband just puts them in there with them. We have done this several times adding to our exsiting flock and usually goes well a little pecking but not bad. The first time we added 2 EE's. They stayed on the roost most of the time. Would get down and eat while the others freeranged. Then we added 2 Autralorps. There was some fighting that evening but after that it has been fine. Then we added 3 BCM and 1 BCM chick. I was worried mostly about the chick but it has all gone fine. There is gonna be some pecking !

I'll be interested in seeing what others say. I have heard that a "see but not touch" arrangement is good -- like putting them in a pen next to your existing birds so they get used to the idea of each other before they hang out together.

Unless you hatched the chicks yourself or got them from a reputable hatchery, you should start with a quarantine time. Generally 2 to 3 weeks worth of time will give you an indication of whether the birds are healthy. Otherwise you risk bringing in disease to your healthy flock.