I want to hear your thoughts on....COOP SIZE

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by tx203grower, Jul 31, 2013.

1. tx203grower

tx203grower Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2013
    Bell County, TX
    I currently have a flock of 8 hens, and I am looking to get at least 8 more come next spring. Between now and then I would like to begin planning my next coop project. As of now I have an 8 foot long x 4 foot wide x 4 foot tall tractor coop I built, and from what I understand is good for 6-8 hens. I am looking to build a new coop, preferably a tractor type if possible, to accommodate 15-20 birds. Minimally, how large will it need to be? I am only beginning my planning now, and I am looking to hear all ideas and thoughts on this matter.

The picture below is of my current coop. I am hoping I can come up with a larger and improved version to house 15-20 hens, if not more.

[​IMG]

Again, I am looking to hear all thoughts and ideas, however the main question remains:

What size coop do I need to house 15-20 birds comfortably?

Thanks!

2. sarahsunshine

sarahsunshine Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2013
    Alberta, Canada
    I’m told the general target is 1-2’ coop space, and 4-5sqft for the run… minimum. So if you can figure out how to combine coop space (high), and have run underneath, you could have a smaller tractor, and presumably lighter.

4-5sqft/hen at 20 hens means 80-100sqft outdoors, and 20-40sqft inside. I don’t see this being a movable tractor unless you put wheels on it!

I don’t know much about your situation, but I know others who make a coop (not movable), or rarely movable, and a run out of electric chicken fencing. They can then move the run in pie-type shapes with easy electric fence posts daily/weekly (whatever you are doing), but not the coop, and only move the coop every week or two. Is that a possibility?