Im Brand new to this, What do I need to feed and water chickens

daniel-delarosa

Songster
9 Years
Dec 14, 2010
Seminole, Oklahoma
I just about have my coop completed, now I need to start gathering the basic equipment. My old neighbor used to just throw out handfuls of of feed on the ground and used a trash can lid for watering. My wife said I could do this whole chicken thing, IF it wasn't hillbilly looking. lol What do I need and where can I get it? Also, what kind of chickens are good. It seems there are dozens of breeds and everyone likes different ones! I just want some brown eggs.

1 gallon waterer,cracked corn laying mash mix,black giants and rhode island reds get the supplies at a local Feeders Supply get the birds off of Craigs list I hope this helps:D

hi,
I learned alot from the mypetchicken.com website. In the left side navigation bar, towards the bottom, there's an e-book. Read that...that should get you started...and they sell what you need and have info on the chickens, including a chicken selector that helps you figure out what chickens are best for you based on the questions you answer. good luck and enjoy every stage.

You can find about everything you need at Tractor Supply Co. Especially in the spring, when they're selling baby chicks.
You'll need a waterer; you can buy special chicken waterers online, and at the afore-mentioned store. Lol. Or you can use something like a water trough, low enough so they can bend and drink, and perhaps thick enough so they can stand on the side. You can buy bags of scratch at a local feed-store, if you have one, and also layer pellets, if you're looking to help boost egg supply.
If you want several sexed chickens, you can get 25 (minimum) off this site here: http://www.mcmurrayhatchery.com/index.html which sells good birds for a decent price. Or you can look at a feed-store, or in the newspaper, etc, for chicks, or pullets.