I'm failing with my rooster, Abe

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by marialane, Jan 18, 2011.

1. marialane

marialane Out Of The Brooder

Dec 28, 2010
    I had posted a problem with my rooster, Abe, (nine months old) displaying aggressive behavior with me when I come in to the coop. He senses that I am afraid of him. He is right! I'm new to all of this and I lack the confidence to manage this problem successfully. I have read the posts on this forum regarding this problem. I logically know how to go about it, picking him up and basically training him to respect me as the head. I, unfortunately, can't seem to handle this. Tonight he approached me and I got scared. I yelled at him and my hens got scared. It is a vicious cycle. A large part of the problem isn't with my rooster at all; it's with my reaction to him. I don't want to loose him. I'm sick over this whole issue.

Is it too late for him to learn to trust me? The aggressive back and forth between us has been about eight or so times.

Thanks for all of your help!

2. Knock Kneed Hen

Knock Kneed Hen California Dream'in Chickens

Feb 15, 2010
    So. Cal.
    Some are just more aggressive than others. I'm not intimidated by a rooster in the least, yet despite all my efforts I wasn't able to keep my first two due to their natural desire to protect their flock. You can't take it personal...they have a mission and take it very seriously. If you decide to keep him just carry a rake with you, keep him at a distance and don't turn your back.

3. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

Don't ruin your chicken keeping experience with a mean roo. I did that and it took me 3-4 years to want chickens again.

There are so many nice roos out there- where you don't even think about them when you go see your chickens.

I would advise to rehome him. We put ours down it was so bad.

4. The Lisser

The Lisser Chillin' With My Peeps

Take a deep breath. It will be okay!