Incubate or wait?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by whudson, Jan 7, 2009.

1. whudson

whudson Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2009
    I'm brand new to chickens and have 3 hens & a rooster.

Right now I'm getting 3 to 4 eggs a week.

#1 - Should I leave the eggs and see if somebody decides to sit, or should I try incubating them?

I have orpingtons, and would like to have more, but I'm in no hurry. I just didn't know how likely it is for one to go broody, and if they do, how long will these eggs have been sitting there when she starts. How long can they sit in the nest before they are no good for hatching?

I built an incubator based on what I learned on this site, and would like to use it at some point, but don't know if this would be a good time (for whatever reason).

#2 - Is there anything that may increase egg production?
    I'm currently feeding crumbles, I've heard that sometimes they lay better with crumbles, and sometimes better with pellets (does it really matter)?
    I do have a light that I turn on at dusk, and leave it on until 8pm.

Other than that, I don't know of anything that might increase production. Suggestions are welcome. I realize there isn't much you CAN do, but if there is anything that might help that would be great.

2. birdlover

birdlover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Northern Va.
    Well, you can't make a hen go broody but you do have a good breed for that so you will probably have some broody hens when the weather warms up. I don't know about crumbles being better than pellets. I don't think it makes a difference. I know I like pellets because there's less wasted. You could incubate the eggs if you wanted to try but you would have to raise them yourself. If you decide to, put all the eggs in at the same time so that they all hatch at the same time. Eggs can sit in a cool room for a couple of weeks and still hatch. Hope this helps.

Oh, and [​IMG]

3. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word