incubator/brooder

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by the simple life, May 2, 2008.

1. the simple life

the simple life Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi,
    I am new to this and would like to know if something that I already own can be used for an incubator or brooder.
    It is a cube shaped glass tank that opens outward with double doors.
    It has a wire mesh cover
    thermometer
    humidity gage
    heat lamps with regular, purple and red bulbs.
    heating pad underneath the unit.
    This was an expensive set up for another animal but didn't end up using it.
    Please let me know if anyone has any thoughts on this.
    Thank You,
    Natalie

2. ascott1978

ascott1978 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2008
    Joshua, Tx
    The best answer I could think is to answer this question:

1) Can it maintain a consistent temperature of 99.5

if not.. then no

if yes... Then add a container to hold water for humidity.

Your largest problem I can see is the wire mesh cover, replace this with a better sealing lid. Keep in mind you'll need some ventilation.

3. Poison Ivy

Poison Ivy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2007
    Naples, Florida
    I have one of those glass tanks you are talking about. I use it as a booder for quail. I've been able to get the temps up to 98* by cover part of the top mesh with a towel. Then I use a 75w red heat lamp that sit on the top for the babies. I'm sure if you worked it around enough you might be able to keep the temps up to use as a incubator. Can't hurt to try and let it run for a few days to a week to tweek the temps & humidity before setting eggs. It has the built in air vent under the doors so I think it would work if you could find a way to cover most of the top up.

4. the simple life

AUTOMATIC TOP HATCH INCUBATOR-For a Wide Variety of Egg

WWW.gubitosa1@yahoo.com

Gubitosa's Game Bird Supplies

AUTOMATIC TOP HATCH INCUBATOR
    Tech Temp Control gives nonfluctuating heat