Incukit DC

FCFarm

In the Brooder
7 Years
Apr 30, 2012
Ocala, FL
I just thought I'd post my experience with the Incukit DC with proportional Thermostat from Incubator Warehouse. Before I bought it, I had a hard time finding reviews, so I wanted to share in case there were others wondering about it.

This is my first time hatching and I went with a DIY cooler incubator because I though I could build one for much less than the cost of a Hova Bator Genesis (which gets such awesome reviews on here, but more than I wanted to spend right now). I already had a cube cooler in great shape and I paid $52 (including shipping) for the Incukit. They had a $5 off coupon on their facebook page. I ordered last Thursday evening and it arrived on Monday via USPS using standard shipping. I'm really glad I didn't pay the extra $7 for expedited shipping! It would have been a waste.

The specs of the incukit are here http://incubatorwarehouse.com/48-watt-incukit-dc.html

It took me a few hours to cut holes in the top of the cooler and install my glass (from a picture frame) and the incukit. The all in one unit comes with screws, washers and a template to help you cut the hole. Once I had the incukit in place, I plugged it in and the heater and fan kicked in. I set up my cooler with a pan for water, a few glass bottles for heat sinks, and a hardware cloth tray to hold the eggs. I also bought an acu-rite remote thermometer/hygrometer. I know there are MUCH better thermometers out there, but I bought this one just as a backup to make sure the incukit was still reading accurately. I have my cooler located in a closet space, so it is protected from most temperature fluctuations. I set it on a thick blanket to insulate from cold tile floors.