Insect Farming

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by EggresiveAli, Jul 31, 2014.

1. EggresiveAli

EggresiveAli Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2013
    Scotland
    Hi guys,
    I currently have 3 hens ( I lost the one in my profile pic 3 weeks ago) and I love giving them treats.
    Obviously I don't give them too many, but I've read on here a lot about about Farming mealworms/black soldier fly.

I live in Scotland, so would the temperature affect breeding rates?
    I'm new to this farming, so basically what do I do?

2. RJSorensen

RJSorensen Chicken George

Well cooler climates will slow down the activities of your chosen live treats, but I don't think it would curtail it in the least. Of course in the winter, and I suppose you do have some snow, it won't work then. But if you are above 70F or close, I believe it could work for you.

RJ

3. EggresiveAli

EggresiveAli Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2013
    Scotland
    Thanks for the reply! So what do I need to go about doing to get this project underway

4. RichnSteph

RichnSteph Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2014
    Adkins Texas
    If you're wanting BSF larvae it could be as easy as getting an open topped crate and making it into a compost bin and then waiting for the flies to show up. That's what happened to us and now I've got thousands of larvae in there.

The meal worms can be kept indoors in something as simple as an old aquarium which is nice in that you can keep them warm and producing year round.

A search for black soldier fly or mealworm farming will get you more information than you can read in a week.

RichnSteph

5. InsectivoreCo

InsectivoreCo Out Of The Brooder

Dec 17, 2014
    I have been raising insects for my birds for a while now, and can shed a little light on the subject.