Interesting Duckling Observations

robbyvg

Chirping
Sep 3, 2021
Middle TN
I am a duck novice. Only in the past year have I discovered the awesomeness of ducks.

Still, I have some observations of ducklings from Metzer. 1 Buff, 2 Blue Swedes, 4 Khakis, 2 Golden Layers and 1 Cayuga.

I have tried in the past year to see what will calm a duckling down. I've spent a lot of my attention to pay attention to what they do, how they do it and who they are.

--- After reading a post here of how someone's duck likes their feet rubbed.... I had to test. The person called the duck a "weird" duck for liking that (I could tell they LOVE their ducks! - MUCH love <3) Love "weird" ducks and people ;)

This test was too easy. Even with few day old ducklings. I found if I held them stable, they would try to get away or jump at first - as per usual. But, even with a distressed duckling, I lightly caressed the tops of their feet. Light, slow, small strokes. Within a few seconds 90% of the ducklings sat/laid down in my hand. Just after caressing their feet for a few seconds! Cool trick I keep using now.

--- If imprinting is done with peers in a box (from a hatchery): Yes, they will be very attached to each other. However, if you spend a lot of 1-on-1 time and leave them alone for a few minutes and then pay more attention to them right after, they begin to adapt and almost imprint on the larger creature they see (us).

--- Though ducklings hate to be on their back for the most part, if you caress their fluffy bellies, while they stand up (of course), they almost can't help but enjoy it and they chatter their bills as if eating (if done softly).