Introduction - new to site

4kids4me

In the Brooder
Jun 3, 2017
2
1
17
Hi! I am Melissa from Western NC. We just acquired our first flock of chickens. Six little ones approx 9 wks old at this point. We have an assortment based on what the kids found "cute" and the breeder suggested would be docile and work in the group well. This is our first "homesteading" step as we just relocated about 9 months ago from a fairly populated area in a large neighborhood with little land to a more rural area with some acreage. The move what primarily for the benefit of the kids (we have 4 ranging in age 10-20) to connect with land, animals, hard work, etc vs being in the "city" and connecting only with concrete and noise. But, as luck would have it, hubby & I are clicking with the lifestyle quite well ourselves! We homeschool & outside of our new venture with chickens (which so far has been great fun), we enjoy horses, our dogs, crafts and "piddling" around the house with projects. My husband & I own a business, which keeps him busy during the week so he enjoys the quiet pace of the country on the weekends. Never thought I would see him riding a tractor for fun, but that is a common occurrence now on Saturday mornings! Haha! Looking to learn a lot here in the group and on the website & eventually feel comfortable expanding our little farm :) Thanks for letting me join in!
 

Pork Pie

Flockwit
Premium Feather Member
6 Years
Jan 30, 2015
56,831
227,260
1,687
Hi Melissa and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us and congrats on your move - seems like it suits the whole family, which is great.

You'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/category/learning-center.11/ and if you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

You may wish to consider joining your state thread as it will put you in touch with other BYC members in your area - http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread#post_3239224

All the best

CT
 

New posts New threads Active threads

Top Bottom