1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Introductions

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AmyLashley13, Jun 8, 2016.

1. AmyLashley13

AmyLashley13 New Egg

Jun 8, 2016
    Hello, I am new to raising chickens. I am becoming an avid fan. I started a few months ago by hatching 1 out of 7 eggs in my kindergarten classroom. My students named it Pip and I became attached to it (him-I think Pip is a rooster.) After that, I bought 4 light brahma pullets from a friend and hatched 2 more eggs. And talked my husband into building me a coop and a run. I am sure that I will have many questions. My 1st being how to tell if my 2 week old chicks will be hens or roosters.
    Thank you in advance for all of the help.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Nice to meet you Amy. You'll probably need to wait longer (more like another month) to discover what you have? You can then post photos at "what breed or gender is this.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

So glad you could join our community! You have definitely come to the right place for all the fun and learning.

When they grow up a bit more, you can as Drumstick Diva has mentioned, post some pics in our What Breed and Gender section for help with the sexes... https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/15/what-breed-or-gender-is-this

With many breeds, the cockerels will be slower to feather and retain their fuzz a lot longer that pullets. And many times by the age of 1 or 2 months, a cockeral's comb will be large and red, where as the pullets combs will still stay small and pale until closer to laying age.