Is RIR going to lay?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by deweyprimjosiedelilah, Aug 16, 2011.

1. deweyprimjosiedelilah

deweyprimjosiedelilah Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2011
    My 16 week old rhode island red (who has never layed before) has just sung the "egg song". I'm pretty new to the whole chicken thing, but I thought that chickens only sang that song AFTER they layed an egg, and I cant find an egg (or something that resembles an egg [​IMG] ) anywhere in the coop. Is the egg song exclusive for after egg laying meaning I should look a little harder or could this "buk buk buk buk BAGAAACK" mean she is just going to lay soon?

Thanks! -Dewey's owner

2. Chicky Chick Mama

Chicky Chick Mama Out Of The Brooder

Mar 12, 2011
    western kentucky
    We got our first RIR egg at 18 weeks. It was tiny, and cute, and they are just now getting regular in the laying (24 weeks). But, as far as singing the egg song, I hear it from roosters, too, so it isn't always about eggs. Sometimes they just seem to want to make noise and they've also done it when they see my cat roaming around. It shouldn't be long now, though.

3. Alethea

Alethea Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Sometimes they practice before laying. Bok.

4. jcatblum

jcatblum Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2010
    Cement, OK
    My DD talks to the girls if they sing the song without an egg she tells them they have to save the song until they are ready to lay an egg. After they lay they can sing the song so everyone will know what a good job they did. She is 11 & she sounds so serious when she tells them they have to wait until it is really their turn to sing the song!

I have a rir that sings the song as she waits her turn for her favorite nesting box. Every chicken is different. Some never sing the song.

5. emrys

emrys Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2009