Is this a blood ring?

nnuc

In the Brooder
May 11, 2023
Hello all and thanks for this amazing forum!

I’ve been reading many threads in here and also incubating some duck eggs. This is my first time incubating, and I’m quite worried about this egg. The first few days, we turned the eggs horizontally by hand, twice a day. Everything was going great. Then on day 6 an egg turner we ordered arrived, then we put the eggs on, at first vertically, then horizontally. It only rotated 45 degrees side to side (making it 90 degrees I suppose?). The thing about this turner, contrary to its advertisement of automatic rotation every 2 hours, turns the egg all the time. I think the rotation is kind of gentle. The next day, we smelled something unusual. Suddenly on some of the eggs, the embryo that we saw previously as the center of a spider, almost “disappeared” or probably hid deeper into the egg. We saw a circle with something that looks like an air bubble moving in place of the embryo. The egg smells unpleasant, not foul, like normal egg whites. It does seem that today the egg smells worse than yesterday though. Today it seems like the circle is bigger, even though we still see the veins.

2023-05-11 10-59-49.jpeg

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Is this the blood ring? Is the egg still alive?

Thank you so much in advance for your guidance!
Best wishes to all,

It doesn't look like a blood ring. Usually blood rings are a large, pale red oval. The egg is usually a yellow-ish color, and the egg might start to smell like it's rotting. Do you see any movement? Sometimes when the embryo is first starting to develop, it'll "hide" and look like it's not present, that's normal for them to do. Spider veins that are a nice dark, visible color are a sign that the duckling is developing well. As the egg ages, you'll be able to tell if it's still growing or had passed.
- They should start to look like this first picture: ( My picture )