Just found the gluten free thread! BYC has it all covered!!

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by nuchickontheblock, Sep 15, 2011.

1. nuchickontheblock

nuchickontheblock Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2010
    south portland, maine
    I'm new to the gluten free world -- been doing the diet about 10 weeks and feel way better. I am missing some of my carbs though. The GF breads you can buy here are $6 - $10 for one loaf, which is nuts. Especially as it is only me eating it - and if I don't freeze half it gets moldy. I'm looking for some type of sweet bread recipe (banana, zuchinni, etc). Is it OK to just substitute the all-purpose GF flour I bought in a regular recipe?
    Thanks for any good, quick recipes.
    Paula

Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  2. Oregon Blues

Oregon Blues Overrun With Chickens

Apr 14, 2011
    Central Oregon
    I take a sweet quick bread recipe that either I know I like, or that has been highly recommended and I simply sub gluten free flour and some Xanthan gum for the regular flour. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

That's your start. Then you have to tweak it a bit. There is no gluten to develop, so cut down on the mixing time.

You can make really good sandwich bread, too. It's more like making cake, because there is no kneading, but you do have to let the dough rest to develop yeast flavor. . But you can actually make good sourdough by making a sour dough starter with gluten free flour and yeast and let it develop.

3. flowerchild59

flowerchild59 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2010
    Southern IL
    I have beeen gluten free for the summer and I feel so much better. Quick breads are easy to convert. I like the gluten free blogs, they have tons of recipes. I also went on amazon and bought several cook books.