Just took in a rescue chicken, need some advice please!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by kandp1, Dec 4, 2013.

1. kandp1

kandp1 New Egg

Dec 4, 2013
    Hi everyone. I'm a newbie around here, but have kept chickens for the past four years in lovely Upstate NY. Here is my question I hope some of you can help answer:

My neighbor rescued an abandoned chicken she found outside her work this morning, and being that she doesn't currently have chickens of her own asked me if I would be interested in taking her in. I of course said yes! She is currently warm and toasty in our basement, set up in our temporary brooder box lol. She is a small girl, and I'm not positive of her breed but I think Bantam something. Fully feathered out pure white, feathered legs, with the kind of signature Bantam stance.

She seems in good shape, no visible injuries, and is acting okay (she has plenty of spunk...almost got away from me while I was transferring her to her new set up and scared my kids wild haha!)

What do I need to do before I introduce her to the rest of my flock? I have four other chickens, all really sweet girls and pretty docile in nature. One Buff Orp., one Black Australorp, and two Red Sex Links. Do I need to de-worm her? Anything you would recommend? We have introduced chicks to the flock before, but never another fully grown bird. Thank you!

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

It is a good idea to quarantine for 30 days...even then there are diseases that can render a chicken an asymptomatic carrier. If you have a flock that is very special to you, you may want to consider putting a "sacrificial chicken" in with her before you have her join the flock, then wait awhile to see if that one gets sick (which is done after the quarantine).

This would serve another purpose...to give her a friend (so when she joins the flock she isn't the only "new" chicken).