keeping silkies with the laying hens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by 4acresNachick, Aug 10, 2011.

1. 4acresNachick

4acresNachick Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2011
    I have a 4 silkies roughly 5 months old and a Cochin bantam that hangs with them and I am wonder if having them live with the laying hens is a good idea. I never see them happier then when they have the coop and run to themselves when the hens are ranging around. Right now both groups sleep in the same coop but go their separate ways when the door opens in the morning. They seem happy, everyone is growing and healthy but I wonder if they might be happier if I divide the coop and run in half and keep them permanently separate? my 6 month old pullets pick on the silkies but never any serious attacks or injuries, just a little chasing. I am new to raising chickens and am now a little over my head. I am madly in love with my silkies but I am afraid I am not giving them what they need. Any advice would be great.

2. TwinMapleRanch

TwinMapleRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2011
    N/W PA
    I am interested in the replies to this post too, as I am pretty much in the same predicament. We will be building a bigger coop this fall, and I am wondering if I should make two separate parts, one for the silkies and one for the rest of the girls? I know there are lots of silkie owners on here... what say you??

3. TGreenhut

TGreenhut Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 17, 2010
    Northern, CA
    I keep my silkies in with my laying hens with no problem at all. It was a little rough at first, but no worse then adding regular laying hens to the flock. Once the pecking order was established, it was pretty much smooth sailing from there. You just need to make sure you have nesting boxes on the ground because silkies can't fly to perch.

4. mysweetgypsy

mysweetgypsy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011