Large coops versus small coops

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by AnonAMauze, Jan 22, 2013.

1. I am new to chickens and have a question about coops. I intend to have a large flock of about 25-30 laying hens, plus a few roosters. I've done my research and know that, as a rule of thumb, 2-3 sq ft per LF chicken is ideal to prevent problems arising. What I want to know is: Does this number hold true even if they have a large run? I'm trying to explain to the checkbook holder why a 6x8 ft coop would not be large enough. She doesn't want to listen to me and insists that she knows what I need.

2. nova022

nova022 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 3, 2012
    Can you get her to read some of the threads about housing chickens? You definetly want to give them at least that much room to avoid the problems with over crowding.

3. I can try. She insists that since i'm the one who wants the chickens I should be the one to learn everything about them, and yet, when I try to tell her things it's like she doesn't want to listen.

4. salt and pepper

salt and pepper Chillin' With My Peeps

They definitely need at least that much room, no matter how large the run is. There are going to be days when they want to stay in, and if they are crowded health problems are much more likely to pop up.

5. farmhand

farmhand Chillin' With My Peeps

Sounds like you need a marriage counselor more than chicken advice.

6. debid

debid Overrun With Chickens

Jan 20, 2011
    middle TN