late hatch from broody hen--question how long to wait for last egg?

ChicksOnBikes

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jan 26, 2011
Started eggs under my broody hen on June 3. I'm a newbie at this, but had been trying to encourage a hen to sit by leaving eggs out. Well, it worked, and I had a hen take to 6 eggs. I allowed a few more to accumulate, then after a few more days, realized that the other hens were sneaking in and laying more in there! I candled eggs, removed the extra, newer ones, and allowed the hen to sit on 11 eggs. Most hatched right on time, but I realized it would be staggered because of the extra eggs that got laid in there. Eggs were due to hatch on the 24th, and most hatched that day or in the next few days. Lost one that hatched with it's yolk not fully absorbed. Down to one egg. I have candled it again, looks like it is developing alright but very slowly. I'm itching to let my broody get off the nest, as surely she is pretty tired of this and looking a little tired or 'off'.
I just did the recommended "float test" today and the egg was viable, a "high floater" with only a bit of the blunt end floating upright above the surface of the water. There was no movement of the egg.

I have the baby chicks in a brooder now with their food/water/light. I'd like to keep them with mom, and I have a pen set up for that, but I don't think I can because she is still on that one egg. HELP! Advice on what to do? I'd hate to kill a viable chick, but I'd like to get the other 9 back with mama. Will mama sit on the last egg AND keep track of or warm the chicks? What would you do?

thanks!

I've got this same scenerio right now, except I've not seperated Mom and chicks - Mom has 1 chick, other two eggs haven't yet hatched (one is not likely going to, but I'm leaving it there for now).