Late to Hatch Duckling Advice?

jloops

In the Brooder
Apr 23, 2022
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting but I've been a long time lurker (even before I had ducks!). I'm Loops and I'm from New Hampshire, USA!

My family started a small flock last year with some duckling we purchased from Runnings. We ended up with two Khaki Campbells (Prissy♀ and Edward♂), and two Rouens (Macaroni♀ and Noodle♂ ). They're not imprinted on us since they were already few days old when we got them, but they ended up very friendly and sweet.

Macaroni recently hatched a clutch of eggs on July 5th and is doing well as a first-time mom so far. She's very protective of the ducklings though still wags her tail when she sees us, and is currently still nested in their coop and watching over 8 ducklings who are now two days old and just beginning to explore the coop.

Today I went outside to visit with the flock and hand out some afternoon treats and found a just-hatched duckling laying outside and covered in ants. The egg it came from was outside the coop and unattended, and one that was recently rolled out for whatever reason they decided to do that. Assuming it hadn't made it, I picked it up to remove a body from the pen, and to my surprise it started squirming around and peeping really strongly! After panicking a bit about what to do I decided to bring it into the house to warm it up, brushed the ants off to see the damage (a few bites but nothing serious, thankfully!), and put it in a box with some dryer-warmed cloth.

At this point its eyes have opened and its begun to try and move around some. It has great mobility and seems quite healthy, peeping and squirming and trying to walk around.

My question is... what should I do with this duckling to give it the best chance of survival?