Lessens learned

GaJohnson350

Hatching
7 Years
Mar 19, 2012
I have been getting on here since before I bought my 31 meaties on March 19th. I put them into a tractor and fed them a 22% protein feed. I made it to the end with 26. 5 died at different times along the way from unknown reasons. Heart problems I think, but that is just a guess. The males were ready right on time. 6 weeks. I waited one more week just for good measure then I started butchering them. I butchered 5 at a time because I have never done a large number before and I didn't want to get overwhelmed. That was a smart move now that I look back on it. I built my own plucker from 4 inch PVC pipe with 2 end caps and a drill for the motor and mounted it to a table. It works pretty well but does require maintenance after every 5 birds. I have 4 more hens to kill, that I will kill this weekend. Then I will be all done. I am very happy with the results. The meat tastes great and I know that they were treated humanely and that they were never given any hormones or med's. I am loving it. Here is what I have learned from my first time.

1. They poop a lot and stink to high heaven and are lazy as can be. So you need plent of space to move them around on so they don't have to go into the same spot twice.
2. I had everything built and in place by the time my birds got here ie. brooder, tractor, feeders and plucker.
3. Pull out the birds that you plan on killing the next morning and separate the evening before. Do not feed them for 12hours prior to killing. 24 hours is way too long and I think it stresses the bird out too much. I did that on the first batch and did not repeat that mistake.
4. Prep for butchering the night before especially if it is your first time ever butchering. Everything should be in place so that wll you have to do is walk out heat water and start killing. I makes things go smother and that is important.