Letting chickens hatch their eggs

rockinRfarms

Hatching
5 Years
Nov 3, 2014
Im new to breeding chickens and have always just collected the eggs for consumption.
I recently purchased a rooster and some hens that I would like to breed. I am going to keep them seperate from my others. My question is do you have to collect and incubate the eggs or can you allow the hens to sit on them and the eggs to hatch naturally?

Hi :welcome

Glad you joined the flock. It is totally up to you how you get your chicks. Both methods have their own rewards. With an incubator you get to decide when you want to have chicks. With a broody hen you have to wait for her to become broody.

A broody will look after her chicks and show them what to do as long as you can provide her with a safe place. If you incubate you have to provide the heat for them when they have hatched and a safe brooder box for them.

I find incubating rewarding as you can acctually see them hatch in the incubator and rearing them is great fun too.

If you are going to incubate your self you can collect the eggs up over a week or as many as you need and store them in egg cartons pointy end down somewhere cool before setting them in an incubator.
Good luck :frow

Last edited:
If it is possible, I would highly recommend trying both ways. Both have some cons, but they are both lots of fun and such a great learning experience.

I recommend having the chickens hatch and raise your chicks. They'll do it better then you will and will take away many of the headaches. You don't have to build or purchase more places to contain chicks and you don't have to worry about the flock accepting them.

So either wait for one of your hens to go broody or if you want to regularly hatch and don't have broody breeds consider adding a hen of a breed known to go broody often.