Letting Chicks Outside

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by grandmas Nest, Apr 11, 2011.

1. grandmas Nest

grandmas Nest Out Of The Brooder

Sep 21, 2010
    Newcastle, Wy
    Okay I am new to chickens, I have had 10 layers I bought as Pullets so they were easy. We added another 8 x 8 coop to our exsiting 8 x 8 coop so I have two or can open gate and have one big coop. Same with the outside runs. They are totally seperate now. My babies are a month old today. I just moved them to thier coop yesturday with their heat light. I should finish their run tomorrow. They are not completely feathered yet, but gaining fast. At night its around 40, today was 65. I thought I would give them a couple days in the coop before letting them in run. I am just going to block off under the coop until I am sure they will go back in the coop when night comes or I would never catch them under it. Its about 19 inches high under it for shade in the summer. But Pop Door is like 3 feet from ground so have a ramp they have to use to get in and out. Does this sound alright to let them out for a few hours in the evening for a few days to make sure they go back in?

2. New2TheCoop

New2TheCoop Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2011
    Central, LA
    I'm new to chickens as well. My chickens will go inside at night if the light is on in the coop. If I forget to turn it on, they all crash on the ramp. But it is really easy to catch sleeping chickens! Lol... As far as getting them from under the coop, I use a broom & shoo them out and catch them that way. I hope this helps

3. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress

They will move back to the lamp at dusk simply because it's light. You can use the same trick to lure older chickens into a new coop.
    I WOULD check on them the first few evenings until you are SURE they get the hang of the ramp. If they can't figure out how to get back up it, they might chill overnight, especially if one gets left out alone.