Little black dots on eggs my hens trying to hatch????? what are they and how do i get rid of them!!!

Angel16

Songster
10 Years
Feb 19, 2013
Riding on a horse! :)
Hello,
I have a hen that went broody ( my first broody hen ever!) so I thought I would make her happy ( and myself :) ) and give her some fertile eggs to hatch. She has been sitting on them for about 2 weeks now ( or 2 and a half) and tonight I found her in another nesting box and the eggs she had been sitting on had little black dots all over them. I'm not sure what they are ( could they be mites? And how come they aren't on any of the other eggs?). I collected all the eggs from the other nesting boxes, but if she doesn't sit on her eggs tonight will they die?? I have no experience with hatching eggs and have had chickens only two years. If anyone could give me some advice as to what the things are and what i should do that would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks!!

It is very likely that the nest is infested with mites - it happens. Remove the bedding, put miticide powder down and cover with fresh bedding, dust the hen, and hopefully you will have a successful hatch. Heavy mite infestations during brooding can cause a hen to abandon her nest or even cause her death. Good luck at resolving this.

It is very likely that the nest is infested with mites - it happens. Remove the bedding, put miticide powder down and cover with fresh bedding, dust the hen, and hopefully you will have a successful hatch. Heavy mite infestations during brooding can cause a hen to abandon her nest or even cause her death. Good luck at resolving this.
Thank you!! I did that yesterday and she is sitting on the eggs now :) Thanks you so much for replaying! I was so worried cause I didn't know what to do :)