Lockdown today :-) 21/01

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Tracy the chick, Jan 20, 2012.

1. Tracy the chick

Tracy the chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2011
    Uk
    Ok i set my eggs on Tuesday 3rd of january at 10.00am. Does that mean i count that as day one with setting on the morning? If it is im on day 19 now!! If i count next day as day one im only on day 18 now and will put them on lockdown.. Im new at this, i have 9 eggs in the incubater and i can see 9 babys in all of them. They are mixed marans and 1 white egg which i dont know what it is! These are shipped eggs off a very good breader..im so scared im going to kill them all! :/ ive got a brinsea 40, the instructions say i have to fill all 4 troughs for lockdown but i dont have anyway of checking the humidity. Ive had 2 troughs filled all this time. It also says have the vent just under half way.. Hope someone can help..

Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  2. JEH1984

JEH1984 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2011
    Asheville NC
    I didn't count the day I set my eggs as day one. I did go into lock down before I went to bed on the 18th day just to be on the safe side.. I would use warm water when you fill it up. Good luck! Keep us posted!!

3. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

chicken eggs set on Jan 3rd would make jan 24th day 21 (you count jan 4th as day 1)

so today, Jan 20th, would be day 17

4. yinepu

to figure "hatch day" for chickens is easy... if you set them on a tuesday.. they are due to hatch 3 weeks later (21 days) on a tueday.. somewhere on here is a hatch calendar that you can print out.. I'll look for a link for ya

here you go...
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...ies-and-addicts-welcome-hatch-calendar-page-1