Look what the stork dropped off!

sorbs

Hatching
Nov 24, 2015
Hello newbie here!

Both to the site and to chicken raising.
I bought a house with a quarter acre. It was all grown over with grape vines, an apple tree, two orange trees, two fig trees, a peach tree a pear tree, a whole row of strawberry's and a back yard fence with blackberry's! The owners had to aggressive dogs back there so we didn't go out before buying the house.(The house was awesome and I figured, "Screw it, I pull it all out if its terrible back there".)
Normally that would all sound great, but I DID NOT WANT FRUIT TREES. So the joke is on me.

I live in Sacramento CA. so there's a very bad drought here, so I let the strawberrys die. RIP Strawberrys.
Now to the point, When i first went back there guess what i found...you'll never guess....that's right TWO coops in great shape.
They're not pretty, I could care less, but they work well. They also left all the equipment i need, feeders, waterers and heat lamp.

BOOYAH BITCHES!!! I'm getting chickens!(shhh...don't tell my girlfriend but I wanted them anyway)

Just a week later, my friend says "hey anybody want these four chickens". duh "yeah, i'll take them".

Over they come and she say’s I gave you a rooster in there also. If you don’t want him I’ll take him back.
And so it came to pass that Henrietta, Gertrude, Daisy, Agnes and Shup up you stupid chicken came to live with me. (Shut up you stupid chicken has since found another home)

I found out that they are Belgian d'Uccle’s and while not great layers, they are very friendly, don’t mind being held and are pretty. MORE importantly, the misses likes them and so my fiendish plan is working perfectly.
Anyway, I’m going to get a 4 more and I pretty sure I’m going with a bard or Plymouth rock, Golden Comet, Red star, Black Australorp, or Leghorn.