Lovin' my chickies

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MollySunshine, Jul 13, 2016.

1. MollySunshine

MollySunshine Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 13, 2016
    Rhode Island
    Hello everyone! I am very new to raising chickens and I have to say, I am absolutely loving it! My husband brought home 12 chicks in April. Same day he brought me another 12.....no big deal put them in with the others. I turn around thinking I'm complete and "are you kidding"....another 12. So a total of ~3 dozen. I needed a place to talk about my chickies and have been lurking for a few weeks now. I have learned sooo much! Who knew there was more to this chicken thing than simply putting out feed! I learn something new everyday. I currently have 6 white Bantams, 12 Rhode Island Reds, 6 Buff Orpingtons and 3 (remaining out of 6) Cornish Rock. I am allowing them to live out their life. I don't have the heart to slaughter them. If I find I have to I will do what I need to do but until that time....hubby didn't know what he was buying. I just knew they were very "different" than the others and began some searching. Notice I said I currently have....yup, I have 6 more Bantams, 1 Gold Wyandotte and 1 Silver Laced Wyandotte chickies coming in a couple of weeks. I cannot wait for my new chickies to arrive! I have been reading the integration thread that has been started and have learned much. As you can see, I can go on and on talking about my chickies. Happy I found this site, its a wealth of information. Especially to a person such as myself who is clueless when it comes to raising chickens....no longer clueless but still learning.

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome