Mallard or Rouen ducklings?

villein

Hatching
5 Years
Oct 23, 2014
North Carolina
Hi all,

I'm new to ducks (and to BYC), but I've found a lot of great information on here! I was told by TSC that these 2 were mallards, but they seem to have the double stripe. Can anyone tell if this is a two-striped rouen or a single-striped mallard?

Welcome to BYC yours look very similar but I don't think I've ever heard of TSC having Rouens
Rouen ducklings
thumb_large_popup_2111.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks! Yes, that's why I was wondering. Is there a size difference between the two as ducklings? They seem big, and one is bigger than the other, even though they are supposedly the same age. They were unable to give me a hatch date.

Thanks! Yes, that's why I was wondering. Is there a size difference between the two as ducklings? They seem big, and one is bigger than the other, even though they are supposedly the same age. They were unable to give me a hatch date.
I've never seen a Rouen duckling in person to say yes or no but I have seen mallard ducklings and they are tiny hopefully someone else can give you the answer, but your ducklings are adorable. I'd think a Rouen duckling would out grow a Mallard duckling pretty quick though since there is a big difference in size when adult.
would like to sahre this with you to, has alot of good info about caring for duckling. https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/750869/raising-and-caring-for-ducklings#post_10611711

Last edited:
Thanks! Here's a picture of them with a red pen (this is not where they live), and they are almost 3 weeks as best I can tell. TSC said they received them on Wed, Feb 11.