Marek's?

shenke79

Chirping
7 Years
Jul 3, 2013
I have an approximately 6-7 mo old Americauna that I have had since 8-10 weeks old. The last 4 days she has been stumbling, seems uncoordinated, droopy wings, some loose stools. Otherwise acting normal. Eating/drinking/coming for treats, etc.
It was a sudden onset. They are on 16% layer pellets (although she has not started laying that i know of). About 10 days ago I did bring in 2 new adult chickens. I did not quarantine them unfortunately. None of my others are acting differently at all.

Unfortunately yep, guilty as charged, @FarmerGirl101.

There is another member having problems with an uncoordinated hen on the thread titled Floppy Chicken. Here is what I wrote there. Please feel free to ask questions. I am no expert, just a flock owner who has been hit by this disease and my answers are based on observation and experience along with the knowledge that I have gleaned from personal study down through the years.

In the 4+ years that I have dealt with Marek's in my flock I have only had one bird present with the particular 'scissor leg paralysis' that is the hallmark of the disease. All others presented with wild neurological symptoms and/or tumors along with Ocular Marek's disease.

I had young birds that would suddenly jump straight in the air and then run around blindly. If memory serves me correctly, I did have one that lost its balance and did circles. Some birds had seizures, wasted and died. When I had a hen turn up with grey eye that is when I began to suspect MD, but until then I had no idea what was causing the symptoms in my birds and killing them between the ages of 1 and 2 years of age. I called and talked to a Veterinary Doctor at the university of Missouri and he told me that he would be willing to do a necropsy on one of my birds but he bet real money it was Marek's.