medicated or unmedicated chick starter?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by HSerChickLady, Feb 16, 2012.

1. HSerChickLady

HSerChickLady Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2012
    upstate NY
    Last year i got my chicks from TSC so i have no idea if they were vaccinated. The stores all said unmedicated feed is fine these days and since i'm trying to raise my birds as naturally as possible i went with unmedicated feed. This year i've ordered my chicks from Meyer Hatchery and am having them vaxed for Marek's disease. But they didn't offer the option of a coccidiosis vaccine. So what kind of starter should i use with them?

I also read that i can add apple cider vinegar to their water as a coccidiosis preventative. Is this a better option than medicated feed?

2. Apyl

Apyl Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2012
    Necedah, Wi
    Good question, this is my first year and everything I've been reading says Medicaided Chick starter so that what I was gonna do. lol I didn't even think its looking at alternatives. I'm interested to see what others suggest. Good luck on your chicks.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

I doubt vinegar would prevent cocci. If it is any comfort, the meds in Chick starter are merely a blocker, typically amprollium. It simply blocks to prevent the cocci from over whelming the immune system. The choice to feed it or unmedicated is yours to make.

Some folks put a piece of sod from their property in the brooder in an attempt to increase the chick's immune system. I'd like to know from others how reliable that is.

4. LaynaDon95

LaynaDon95 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2012
    Texas
  5. felidaet

felidaet Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2008
    Vancouver, Wa.