mixed bunch arriving to a newbie total novice

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jaqueelee, Jul 7, 2010.

1. jaqueelee

jaqueelee Hatching

Jul 7, 2010
    Brentwood
    I have two pekin an abacot ranger females and a female and male runner duck. recently my little female runner disappeared and became broody over a pile of eggs laid by all! My male covers them all too- the femaless that is!! I didnt thinks she would go the course so took no notice other than to check she was eating etc- then the abacot ranger decided to join her. Yesterday I dicovered that they had succeeded in hatching a baby - today three more - there are about 40 eggs in the hutch - Help! I could do with some practical advice here on how to proceed. The little runner is happy with her new babies and they seem to cling to her more than the other duck. She is also sitting it out on more eggs. Should I try to remove the eggs not being sat on - should i disturb her to see how many more she is siting on. I have for the moment rehoused the two pekins and the runner male - although one of the babies escaped the house this afternoon and was chasing one of the pekins all over the place - the male runner did not bother or hinder the little one...

I have a reasonable amount of land but do not want too many more ducks So need some advice (also have chickens - no cockerel / and quail)...

Dont like the idea of killling off nearly there babies but also dont want them starting on more eggs... Also one of the babies escaping the house - am preparing to make a smaller run for them tomorrow but neither of the hens went after it. only one seems inclined to look after the babies. I have put chick crumb and water in the shed but the abacot ranger was eating this herself and seeing the older baby away earlier - whether because she could see me near by or because she wanted the food instead i am not sure...