MN Backyard setup, new to SNOW!! Need Winter Advice

gertiebird001

Hatching
7 Years
Aug 25, 2012
Hi! Longtime Tx chicken raiser here, however I'm brand new to chickens in Minnesota and other winter climates that actually get SNOW!! Ha. I need to ask some VERY simple questions to get me on the right track.

Here is my setup: City backyard, two large trees but plenty of light and space. A 3' chain link fence surrounds the property, and the only predators are neighborhood cats and redtailed hawks (not unlike TX, except we had bobcats and coyotes too! And in TX, I lived on a multi-acre farm...*sigh*) . In the MN yard I have a 1/2 insulated 8x10 shed next to the house that is currently unused, and am thinking about turning it into a coop. This summer, we have had the chicks in our brooder box (a tried-and-true repurposed metal horse trough) and have ferried them out to a mobile yard enclosure by day, complete with top wire cover to keep out the hawks. We plan to continue the mobile coop design at least in the summer in order to spare the lawn some. No yard chemicals to worry about, either. I am keeping a grand total of 3 Black Australorps, which is a far cry from the 22 I used to have in TX but it'll have to do. :)

Here are my questions (warning...we are starting back at Chickens 101 here):

1. What do y'all do with your birds during the day? Do they stay inside, or do they go out? From my research, I have gathered that some people have plastic-wrapped yards. However, due to the backyard nature of my setup, the only good spot in the backyard for a year-round chicken yard is on the corner opposite the shed-- a bare patch where the garden used to be. (Otherwise I will have to sacrifice some good lawn, which can be done but won't be a popular verdict with the rest of the family :). Needless to say, the shed and the bare patch are not anywhere close to connected.