More questions........Hovabator?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by PhlyinPheBee, May 16, 2009.

1. PhlyinPheBee

PhlyinPheBee Poodles, Chicken, Goats--OH MY!!

Mar 11, 2009
    Northeast Louisiana
    BRAND NEW HOVA-BATOR INCUBATOR 1602N & 1611 EGG TURNER-----I found this on eBay. It is 78.95 plus 15.49 shipping.

Is that a good price?? Is this a good incubator for a newbie?? Just to have one to hatch a few eggs from my own hens.

2. Chicks_N_Horses

Chicks_N_Horses Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2009
    South Alabama
    I have the hova1602n. It is working fine. My first batch it did have a temp. spike and fried my eggs. My second try worked with almost a 100% hatch rate and I did have 2 temp. spikes on the second. I am on my 3rd batch now...hopefully they hatch. I am a newbie. I don't have a turner, I do it by hand twice a day.

Can't say on the price...mine was given to me

Last edited: May 16, 2009
  3. Calebs Acre

Calebs Acre Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2008
    Long Island
    http://www.cutlersupply.com/

Take
    a look at Cutler and compare prices. I am constantly plugging them because their prices are great and they have fantastic customer service. Whenever I've had problems, they've been right there to help me.

Personally, I don't use the 1602 because it is a still air incubator without a fan. But, there are quite a few people who hatch fine with still air incubators.

I have used all three of the forced air incubators and, of course, prefer the Genesis, but I also like the picture window non-Genesis...I can't remember the numbers.

Good luck!

4. pattyjean73

pattyjean73 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2009
    NW Arkansas
    I just bought the hova bator from TSC for $41.99. I didn't buy it but the egg turner was right at another $40. $80+tax you'd have a brand new one, and wouldn't have to wait for it to come in.

5. LoveMyBirds

LoveMyBirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2008
  6. old mill poultry