Muscovies Nesting and Hatching Questions!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by AlaskaItaly, Jul 8, 2010.

1. AlaskaItaly

AlaskaItaly Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2010
    I am new to all of this - but must get up to speed quick!

I have three girls and a drake. One of the girls got hurt (but is doing so much better thanks to the advice on this forum).

One of my girls, M, started nesting in early June with about 14 eggs.

The second girl, Matty, started nesting, also with about 12/14 eggs, about two weeks later.

Both nests are in a protected deck area with a door and netting over the top to keep out the roaming neighborhood cats.

A few weeks ago, I see where Matty and M have changed nests. M is sitting on Matty's eggs and Matty is sitting on M's eggs.

The injured duck, Angel, had also been sitting on M's eggs while M was in the nest -and when Matty switched nests, Angel, continued to sit on the nest with her. When one would go off the nest, the other would slide over onto the eggs and they would sit on the nest together.

5 eggs hatched two days ago - I went out to discover these adorable balls of fluff sitting on the back of one of the girls!

SO - I see that M didn't want to sit on her 'adopted' nest anymore. She kept going over to want to sit on her original nest and new babies. The other two girls would snap at her but she would persist until she was also sitting on the nest (and over the other two girls mostly:).

Why would they switch nests? Is this normal for Muscovies?

I may have made a mistake - but after seeing this for some time - I got concerned that the second nest's eggs were being neglected. I put one of those eggs near Matty/Angel and they immediately rolled it under them - so I put the rest of the eggs in that first nest.