My Backyard Coop and Run~

SDChef

Songster
9 Years
Feb 6, 2010
Hey everyone and thanks for checking out my new setup through construction, I'm going to call this my "Chicken Journal". My name is Brandon, i'm a cook in san diego and I live about 5 minutes and no freeways from Downtown San Diego. I just acquired a duplex house that a family friend owns for the same as I was paying for a 2 bedroom apartment in uptown San Diego. The best part about it? I get to have chickens! The property is well guarded and sits in a very quiet more spread out area in the Uptown area and and is quite secluded. This spring I am going to be building a Large vegetable and herb garden in my backyard and thought it would be a great idea to start with a chicken coop. So after building my compost heap I went to it building the coop, the Idea I have is build by using recycled materials. The house itself needed a lot of work, and after a couple loads from Home Depot I was left with 10 perfectly good Pallets. So I decided they would make a good frame and started screwing them together.

48460_pallet_coop.jpeg

I than turned to craigslist since I was in need of both 2"x4"s and either planks or plywood. Well someone Else's misfortune turned into wooden gold for me. I came accross a posting for a long wooden fence that had blown down in the last storm. I came home with a truck load of 5' planks and over 20 2"x4"'s. The next day I set to work framing the rest and starting to seal it up.

The Nest boxes were made from 2 small sheets of 3/4" plywood that the neighbor threw over the fence.

48460_coop_front_image.jpeg

Here is the front of the coop
48460_coop_side_image.jpeg

this is a front side view, there will be 2 access doors on that wall
48460_nest_boxes_2.jpeg

These are the nest boxes installed
48460_coop_floor.jpeg

Here is the inside floor before the planks were installed