My Chicken Had a Stroke

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by marmoramustang, Dec 1, 2013.

1. marmoramustang

marmoramustang New Egg

Dec 1, 2013
    Hi All, Im new to Backyard Chickens and just wanted to say hi and share a recent experience.
    About three weeks ago I had noticed my chicken stumbling when trying to walk. She was have a very hard time standing and when she did stand she stayed on her elbows, not fully up on her feet. Also her tail stayed in a drooped position. She would tire seconds after standing and would plop down to rest after only a few seconds. I also noticed that when I put food in front of her she she would peck at the food but she was having a hard time locating it. As if she lost her eyesight.
    At first I thought she was having neurological issues and would feed her and give her water three times a day.
    Finally I found a tread where someones chickeken was experiencing the same thing. They said there chicken had a stroke and it all made sence. I then contacted my vet and found out that the vet I use for my cats also did exotic animals which i did not know beofre this.