My chicken sleeps in

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by isabelle1, Jun 21, 2016.

1. isabelle1

isabelle1 New Egg

Apr 22, 2016
    I have a blue Australorp who lays an egg a day and doesn't get up early in the morning, which worries me. She has
    been sleeping in for about a week.. but continues to lay. It has been a cold damp winter, by our standards, and I am a novice chicken keeper. (I have had 'words' with her and told her I really wouldn't mind if she stopped laying for a bit if she's unwell-joke!)
    I suspect she's sick or something. Any ideas?

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us. I'd suggest posting your question on the "Chicken behaviours and egg-laying" forum to get advice from the experts.

All the best
    CT

3. Cynthia12

Cynthia12 Always Grateful Premium Member

Apr 11, 2010
    Utah
    [​IMG]

Yes, as CT suggested, try that site..go to the search bar above. :)

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Does she eat & drink & poo well? It's a wild guess but I wonder if she is trying to go broody. Not all broody hens have it figured out. For instance some will try and hatch rocks or nothing at all. Others when they do hatch, will attack the chicks

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Sorry about your bird. Chickens should be more active than this and it does sound like something is wrong or starting to go wrong.

What is the consistency of her poop? What color is it, and does it have a white cap on top? Any blood in the poop and is the poop stained a bit red?