My Chickens Are Roosting On Our Roof!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ctomsheck, Jul 24, 2011.

1. ctomsheck

ctomsheck New Egg

Jul 24, 2011
    Hello, this is my first posting on BackYardChickens. I am very new to this whole chicken thing, and am going to have to do a lot of learning as I go.

I live in Western Washington and have six young chickens, the first three we got almost two months ago, and the next three we got yesterday, and are still under a heat lamp. We have a rather large back yard that is fenced and gated, and occupied only by the chickens.

The older ones were finding creative places to sleep at night until we finished the coop for them, and then they started putting themselves away in the coop at dusk, and seemed to like their new nighttime home. For some unknown reason they stopped going in the coop at night, and started roosting on the back porch railing. I would wait until dark and carry them to the coop and close it up. This has been going on for about a week. Tonight I heard them, but couldn't see them - until I looked up on the roof. I got them off the roof and into a cardboard box and took them to the coop again. It seems somewhat unreasonable to climb a ladder onto the roof and fetch the chickens down every night, but if I leave them there, they would appear to be no more than owl or hawk bait...

Is there someone with experience who can tell me what I'm doing wrong?

2. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    [​IMG]

I have had similar issues before. I would start closing them up in the coop a bit earlier. Use treats to entice them, catch them if that doesn't work. They should develop a routine soon. Once a dominant hen or rooster decides that the coop is the place to go at night, the rest should follow. [​IMG]

3. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop