My coop is underway...question?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Chickenkate17, Aug 15, 2010.

1. Chickenkate17

Chickenkate17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2010
    California
    The coop is over half way done....photos coming soon! I have a question, my chickens will be mainly free range and then brought into the coop/enclosed run at night. Do they need to be locked in the coop?? (e.g., does the coop area need a door??) Will having an open door mess with their sleep cycle or anything?? Thanks, I'm a newbie!

2. walbarbsa

walbarbsa Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 1, 2008
    Castroville, Texas
    We were all newbies, at one point. But no, don't worry about the open door. Some of my chickens roost on top of the coop, in a tree, etc. None of my coops even have doors. When I had only a few chickens, I had a small coop with a door and I brought them in at night and closed door....then I forgot a couple of times....no problem. Now I have doorless coops. Fortunately, though, I don't have any predators out here that the dogs don't scare off....though there was one drunk human.....[​IMG]

3. Chickenkate17

Chickenkate17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2010
    California
    Thanks!! Drunk human.....must be a funny story....

4. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR